Skip to main content

Originally, from the small village of Mayobridge, located outside Newry City, Co. Down, James Murphy is the current director of music at St Michael’s Church, Dún Laoghaire, and artistic director of the Dún Laoghaire Summer Organ Concert series. At the age of twelve, he became the organist at the Benedictine Monastery, Rostrevor, in addition to regularly playing for liturgies at St Patrick’s Cathedral, Armagh. Upon commencing music studies at Maynooth University, he began to study the organ under Dr David Connolly and in his final year of his undergraduate music degree James was appointed as the organ scholar at St Patrick’s College for the following two years.  During this time, James graduated from a Masters in Organ Performance and Musicology with a first-class honours classification under the tutelage of Professor Gerard Gillen. After this, James took up the position of College Organist at St Patrick’s College, Maynooth. As an organ recitalist James has given solo recitals in venues such as St Mary’s Pro-Cathedral, Dublin, St Mel’s Cathedral, Longford, St Michael’s Church, Enniskillen and St Peter’s Cathedral, Belfast, in addition to performing in venues such as St Peter’s Basilica and the Archbasilica of St John Lateran, Rome.

Dublin Brass Ensemble is Ireland's leading brass ensemble, and the members are delighted to have been invited to perform at this year's organ festival in Dun Laoghaire. The group has been described by the Irish Times as "A Breath of fresh air..." Dublin Brass was set up by Ashbourne-based trumpeter William Palmer in 2005 and the ensemble varies in size depending on what repertoire they are performing. Nearly every top brass player based on the island of Ireland has performed with the group at one time or another. The group's most recent project is an album called Breath Upon The Flame where some of Ireland's leading composers have fused Irish traditional music with symphonic brass. Dublin Brass is honoured to be working with soprano Eimear Quinn on this latest release, which will be available online from 7 July this year on all major platforms online and also on CD.

Dietrich Buxtehude (1637–1707)

Praeludium in F-sharp minor, BuxWV 146

Giovanni Gabrieli (1557–1612) arr. Peter Adcock

Canzona XII à 10

George Frideric Handel (1685–1759)

Music for the Royal Fireworks, HWV 351

Overture (arr. J. Hall)

Minuet (arr. P. Gordon)

La Réjouissance

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)

O Mensch, bewein dein Sünde groß, BWV 622

Kilian O'Kelly (b.1989)

Tree of Smoke

Henri Tomasi (1901–1971)

Semaine Sainte a Cuzco

Eugène Gigout (1844–1925)

Grand Choeur Dialogué (arr. P. Walton)

Toccata in B minor