Skip to main content

Fergal Caulfield


Fergal Caulfield is a graduate of Trinity College, Dublin, where he obtained BA and PhD degrees in music, specialising in the late serial music of Stravinsky.  


He studied piano with Peter Dains at the Royal Irish Academy of Music, and the organ with Professor Gerard Gillen at the Pro-Cathedral Dublin, and also attended various scholarship masterclasses in the UK and Belgium. He holds performance and teaching diplomas in both instruments.


As well as numerous performances in Europe, he has given solo recitals at most of the major concert venues in Ireland, including the National Concert Hall, the Wexford and Galway Arts Festivals, St. Michael’s Church Dún Laoghaire, the Pro-Cathedral Dublin, and Trinity College Chapel. He has additionally appeared as soloist in concerto performances with a number of ensembles, including both the RTE National Symphony and RTE Concert Orchestras (in the organ symphonies of Marcel Dupré, Camille Saint-Saens and Aaron Copland and, most recently, John Buckley's organ concerto and Samuel Barber's Toccata Festiva). He is a former prizewinner of the Dublin International Organ Festival (now Pipeworks) and is also much in demand as a vocal and instrumental accompanist.


In additions to his interests in the fields of solo and chamber music, Fergal works regularly with the RTE National Symphony and RTE Concert Orchestras, Chamber Choir Ireland, the RTE Philharmonic Choir and Dun Laoghaire Choral Society.

Martin O’Leary (b.1963)

Jubilate (2013 - dedicated to David Connolly)

Dietrich Buxtehude (1637-1707)

Fried- und Freudenreiche Hinfahrt, BuxWV76 (1674)

(Mit Fried und Freud ich fahr dahin)

Contrapunctus I

Evolutio I

Contrapunctus II

Evolutio II


Johann Adam Reincken (1643-1722)

Choralfantasie: An Wasserflüssen Babylon

Frank Corcoran (b.1944)

Sonata for Organ (1973)

Allegro molto

Adagio molto

Allegro Molto

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

An Wasserflüssen Babylon BWV653b

(Weimar version, con pedale doppio)

Léonce de Saint-Martin (1886-1954)

Paraphrase du Psaume 136 “Super Flumina Babylonis”

I Tristesse des Hébreux captifs de Babylone (The sadness of the Hebrew people captive in Babylon)

II Lamentations au souvenir de Jérusalem (Mourning in memory of Jerusalem)

III Babylone la Superbe (The proudness of Babylon)

IV Les Hébreux maudissent leurs vainqueurs (The Hebrew people curse their conquerors)