Skip to main content

BEN VAN OOSTEN was born in The Hague in 1955. He studied organ and piano at the Sweelinck Conservatory in Amsterdam and in Paris. Since 1970 his numerous highly successful concert tours have taken him to the foremost international organ venues, where he has emerged as one of the most remarkable organ virtuosos of our time. In addition to his concert career he gives organ masterclasses in many countries and is professor of organ at Rotterdam Conservatory. Ben van Oosten has dedicated himself exhaustively to French symphonic organ music. His recordings of the eight organ sonatas of Alexandre Guilmant and the complete organ works of Camille Saint-Saëns, Louis Vierne, Charles-Marie Widor and Marcel Dupré have been awarded many international prizes (including the Echo Klassik, Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik, Choc du Monde de la Musique and Diapason d'Or). He is also author of the comprehensive Widor biography, Charles-Marie Widor - Vater der Orgelsymphonie (Charles-Marie Widor - Father of the Organ Symphony).  Because of his services to French organ culture he was honoured on three occasions by the Société Académique Arts, Sciences, Lettres in Paris. The French government created him Chevalier (1998) and Officier (2011) dans l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, and in 2010 H.M. the Queen of The Netherlands appointed him Knight in the Order of the Netherlands Lion. Ben van Oosten is titular organist of the Grote Kerk in The Hague and artistic director of the international organ festival that takes place annually in this church.

Louis Marchand (1669-1732)

Grand Dialogue in C

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Allein Gott in der Höh' sei Ehr, BWV 662

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart    (1756-1791)

Konzertante Kirchensonate in C, KV336

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)

Prelude and Fugue in E flat, op. 99 no. 3 (1894)

Alexandre Boëly (1785-1858)

Two chorale preludes

- Bin ich gleich von dir gewichen

- Ermuntre dich, mein schwacher Geist

Alexandre Guilmant (1837-1911)

from Pièces de différents styles pour orgue (18 books, 1869-1912):

- March upon Handel's 'Lift Up Your Heads', op. 15 no. 2

Marcel Dupré (1886-1971)

Te lucis ante terminum op. 38 no. 5 (1942-1943)

Verbum supernum, op. 45 no. 8

Souvenir, op. 65 (1969)

Hayo Boerema (b. 1972)

Petite suite pour grand orgue (dedicated to Ben van Oosten)

- Introduction et choral

- En taille

- Mélodie

- Toccata